Further From The Dream?

Before I start, may I say something?

{of course I can!  It’s my blog!}

I am NOT whining or complaining.  If you read it in that voice in your own head, that’s not the voice I’m using 😉 Sometimes there’s a fine line between complaining and being super honest.  So I just want to put it out there.  I am not depressed.  I am not miserable.  You don’t need to feel sorry for me.  Got it?  Okay, moving on…

We’ve been in this new town for a month. If you can call it a town.  There’s not a whole lot here. We do have a grocery store…

We are renting a big house, bigger than we’ve ever been in.   I am not sure the square footage, but it seems huge to us.  The house we owned in Oregon was 1500 sq ft and one bathroom, the rental in Sugar was 1,000 sq ft and one bathroom.   The one bathroom never bothered me a whole lot, but I was looking forward to having more!  Now we have 3!  The bigger home has been nice in many ways {exception being the utility bills}.  I am super grateful for that.

But the things going through my head …well, I still feel like we’re ‘floating’.  Not sure where we are going to end up or how.

I know the Lord knows, and I take a lot of comfort in the plan He has set before us.   I am just feeling like everything’s so temporary.  {It is , I know!}

The 2 major motivators for picking up and moving away were job security, and affordable land. Now we find out, even with the new position, that hubby’s job is still not as ‘safe’ as we thought.  And we are in a place that feels further from the dream of owning land. Yes, we can afford it.  But will he lose his job?  Will we transfer again?  We don’t know the answers to those questions, so buying land is out of the question as of now.  And even IF his job is safe here…well, we don’t WANT to buy in this town.  We don’t see a future here at all.  We liked the last area we’d moved to much more.dec2015 002.JPG

So for now, we are renting a home, surrounded by apartments in a tiny town.  We have met nobody, the closest homeschool groups are 30 minutes away and are all of a different faith than we are.  My kids are going NUTS to get out and do things, but the truth is, there’s just not anything to do.  Like I said, I am not upset or feeling sorry for myself.  I am just answering the questions we get so often in the most honest way possible.

So right now it feels as if we’re moving quite further from ‘the dream’ of a small homestead.  I don’t know where we’ll end up, but I am glad the Lord leads.  In the meantime I’m trying to enjoy the journey…even if it looks a whole lot differently than I would wish…

Blessings,

Mandy

Leave a Reply

