Easy Crock Pot Applesauce…

A few friends asked me last year how I make applesauce.

It’s so easy, I felt a little ridiculous telling them.

A new friend here in Idaho shared her apple bounty with me and I whipped up a batch.

It’s SO easy.

#1}  Get a crock pot.

#2}  take some apples {preferably organic, and I’ve used whatever kinds I can get my hands on!}, peel them mostly and roughly chop.  You may need to cut out/around wormholes, don’t let that scare you!  It’s still good!

oct.2015 003

check out these gorgeous, HUGE, unsprayed apples!

oct.2015 002

oct.2015 004

I am NOT good at uniform chopping.

3#} toss them in the crock pot with enough water to cover about an inch or so on the bottom.   Sprinkle with cinnamon.

This is the brand I like, I order from Amazon.  Make sure to get organic as nonorganic is often irradiated!  And I use Ceylon, rather than your run of the mill Cassia.  You can read more about why Here .oct.2015 001

oct.2015 006

If your apples are super tart, or just kind of blah, you can add a bit of maple syrup and vanilla at this point.  I usually don’t, but every once in awhile I get a fairly tasteless batch of apples and it is better with the additions.   I didn’t do it this time.

#4} cover and slow cook on low for a few hours.

#5} get a potato masher and mash up the apples to your liking {I like chunky applesauce}

oct.2015 007oct.2015 008

#6} Let cook down for another hour or so.

#7}  You’re done!  Just get a bowl and eat up!  Yum!

Blessings,

Mandy

One thought on “Easy Crock Pot Applesauce…

  1. Chunky applesauce is the best! And would you believe I made applesauce on the stove top for 35 years before I figured out I can use my crock pot. Maybe it’s because all my batches are shrinking around here…no more 200 lbs. of apples at a time. I like this new trend. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

