Home.

What a month this has been.

When we prayed that God would open doors or close them according to His will, we never actually realized something would come of it!

{I know, I know, we’re pretty dense}

I realize moving is, for some people, just a normal part of life.  For us it wasn’t.   My husband was born, raised, and never left {not even for a small time} our town in Southern Oregon.  I moved there with my family in the middle of 6th grade and never left after that.  We both love it there.  All 4 seasons, with winter being the mildest.  Green, lush, rain, beauty.

We were 2 hours from the coast  {and if you’ve never seen the Oregon coast, you’ve never seen such beauty.  ‘Beaches’ just don’t compare}, less than that to the mountains & my favorite place on earth, Union Creek, Oregon, where Jerad’s families’ cabin has sat for nearly 100 years.

You see, we didn’t just leave a place…

we left our home. our people. our lives.

So, I know many people have asked us why??!!!

Well, a few reasons.

In the last 10 years our town has become a mecca of drugs & crime.

For heaven’s sakes, my {then} 13 year old was followed and had his life threatened by a druggie in the woods behind a friend’s house!  It’s just impossible to get away from there.  Drug needles found in the parks, people coming into our backyard at night!  Creepy stuff.  And although we know that nowhere is without crime, and that God doesn’t call us to live in fear, my husband was way beyond DONE with it.  Add to that the politics in our state, and my hubby was itching to go knowing it would only get worse.

The other main part of why we would even consider leaving our hometown, was because of our dream to own a small farm.

Just a little one, a hobby farm more than a working farm.   But prices in Oregon are too high for us to get what we’d like.  They always have been, but now acreage is going even higher as a result of people flocking to Oregon to grow marijuana on anything over 2 acres.  We just weren’t going to buy land there, plain and simple.

So…when a position opened up in Idaho, we read about the area, visited, prayed and talked and talked and prayed.

We had always said that if we moved it would be Montana or Idaho. It’s just that neither of us actually thought we meant it.  It was said offhandedly.  And , when I said I daho…well, I had meant the panhandle, where it’s green.

Alas, God opened doors and led us here.

Here we will make a life and keep our hands open to what God gives, knowing that it is always good.

It is ALWAYS good.

That doesn’t mean easy, or painless, or comfortable.

I have found most, if not all, truly good things in life are quite the opposite.

They’re hard, heart breaking and require us to put our faith in Christ knowing that’s the only way we’ll get through.

I am very much a ‘pull yourself up by your bootstraps, put the big girl panties on, and get over it.’ type.

I know others do much harder things, go much further, etc.

It’s no mistake that we’re studying the pioneers in our homeschool right now.  Talk about a different breed.  Those people had so much bravery and faith it is astonishing to read about.   I know what we’ve done is just a drop in the bucket, even when our hearts feel like it’s bigger.

oct 2015 045

So from the last week of August, ’til now, it’s been a whirlwind.  Today marks 2 weeks that we’ve been in Idaho.

It may take awhile to establish, but this is now our home.  This dry, small place that will grow me and this crew. We see God transforming our hearts and working in us even this soon.

We look forward to this new life, sometimes with fear and trembling, but ultimately with faith.

God Bless,

Mandy

When we were driving over here {a super long drive on no sleep}, I truly was struggling to keep my eyes open and was considering honking at my hubby to ask him to pull over so I could rest for a few.  I had my favorite band in the world blaring.  I had heard the song hundreds of times, but this time it hit me fresh.   I felt like God was talking to me!

Have a listen:

go here

the lyrics:

“Keep Your Eyes Open”
NEEDTOBREATHE

If you could soldier on
Headstrong into the storm
I’ll be here waiting on the other side
Don’t look back
The road is long
The first days of the war are gone
Take back your former throne and turn the tide

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown till you
Keep your eyes open, my love
So tell me you’re strong, tell me you see
I need to hear it, can you promise me to
Keep your eyes open, my love

Just past the circumstance
The first light, a second chance
No child could ever dance the way you do, oh
Tear down the prison walls
Don’t start the curtain call
Your chains will never fall until you do

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown till you
Keep your eyes open, my love
So show me your fire, show me your heart
You know I’ll never let you fall apart if you
Keep your eyes open, my love

Open up
Open up
Open up your eyes
The weight is unbroken
Open up
Open up
Open up your eyes
Keep your eyes open

Don’t let the night become the day
Don’t take the darkness to the grave
I know pain is just a place
The will has been broken
Don’t let the fear become the hate
Don’t take the sadness to the grave
I know the fight is on the way
When the sides have been chosen

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown
Open up your eyes
Keep your eyes open
So tell me you’re strong, tell me you see
I need to hear it, can you promise me to
Keep your eyes open, my love
So show me your fire, show me your heart
You know I’ll never let you fall apart if you
Keep your eyes open, my love

Keep your eyes (Keep your eyes open)

2 thoughts on “Home.

  1. I certainly needed this right now…I’m weeping, as a matter of fact. Thanks, Mandy. It’s been a really hard week, but I do know the Lord’s got it covered.

    Like

Leave a Reply

